Sparks (or not)
Emitted from the fire, their tiny illumination endures for the briefest of moments…then, they are gone

Discerning the Spirits

When darkness falls
and a chill sweeps in
with it’s
fear
doubt
despair…

When a presence near
of clammy skin
slithers close,
death
fills
the air.

Surrounding me,  creeping things
crouching, wing-ed beasts.
Talons, teeth
beyond belief.
My God! This isn’t fair.

My eyes see only doom and gloom.
A wretched stench ascends.
My last – my end
Does this portend
of my bones in evil’s lair?

Suddenly… a shout I hear
“Open his eyes to see!”
Is another door
not seen before
hidden from earthly stare?

Horses! Riders! Chariots of fire!
on the ridges, hills and mounts.
And leading the way
to rout their prey
I see Michael and Gabriel there.

How quickly does the battle turn
when I lift my eyes to see
the legion hordes
with flaming swords
and a Captain who really cares.

~  ~  ~

Darkness makes a showy scene.
Light reposes ‘neath a veil.
Yet more are those who fight for us
than those who’d have us fail.

refer:  2 Kings 6: 15-17

3 Responses to “Discerning the Spirits”

  1. Kewl! Kewl! baby it’s cool!


Leave a Reply

