Sparks (or not)
Emitted from the fire, their tiny illumination endures for the briefest of moments…then, they are gone

Who I am

One with nature
stalking silently, prepared to kill
and thank the Creator for another day’s or week’s provision
Somewhere deep in my bones
the young Brave still shivers at the lurking, lusting eyes of the wildcat.

Ancient and Asian
steeped in centuries of tradition
yet life is but a daily ritual of fish and rice…fish and rice…
The very cells of my being hearken to another rising sun
upon an eternal eastern sea.

Out of the rut of safety
we go to find new worlds
Salty air, briny main,  polar winds
our companions along the way
The blood of Norsemen courses even now through my veins.

Stamped with a destiny
before the foundations of the world
to serve my neighbor – and conquer Hell
…and love the lover of my soul
A divine nature lies deep beneath this shell

A patchwork cloth
of many hues and textures
in pleasure and pain sewn together
And in the chilly winds of Fall
it shall become my shroud and swaddler

This is who I am

2 Responses to “Who I am”

  1. Can I be the thread, the weave or the dye


Leave a Reply

